Image result for udsm students


The University of Dar es salaam is the oldest and biggest public university in Tanzania. It is situated on the western side of the city of Dar es salaam, occupying 1,625 acres on the observation hill, 13 kilometers from the city centre.
It was established on 1st July 1970, through parliament act no. 12 of 1970 and all the enabling legal instruments of the constituent colleges. Prior to 1970, the university college, Dar es Salaam had started on 1st July 1961 as an affiliate college of the University of London. It had only one faculty- the faculty of Law, with 13 students.
In 1963 it became a constituent college of the university of East Africa together with Makerere University College in Uganda and Nairobi University College in Kenya. Since 1961, the University of Dar es Salaam has grown in terms of student intake, academic units and academic programmes.

UDSM Vision

“to become a reputable world-class university that is responsive to national, regional and global development needs through engagement in dynamic knowledge creation and application.”

UDSM Mission

“the unrelenting pursuit of scholarly and strategic research, education, training and public service directed at attainment of equitable and sustainable socio-economic development of Tanzania and the rest of Africa.”

Guiding Theme

The focus of the University of Dar es Salaam activities during the period 2006/ 07 – 2010/11, shall be guided by the following theme: “Enhanced quality outputs in teaching, research and public service”



UDSM Management & Leadership _01July2016_


University Senate

UDSM Senate is the principal overall decision – making organ on all the academic matters both in teaching, research and consultancy and for the regulation and superintendence of the education of the students of the University.
Senate Composition in accordance with University Charter 2007
a)      The Vice Chancellor, who shall be the Chairman
b)      The Deputy Vice- Chancellors and the Deputy Vice Chancellor ARC as the Vice –Chairman
c)      Principals of the Affiliated Colleges and Campus College of the University
d)      Deputy Principals of Affiliated College and Campus Colleges responsible for academic matters
e)      The Dean of students
f)       Deans of Schools and Faculties
g)      Directors of the Institutes, the Library, Centres and Directorates
h)      One person who shall be appointed by the Minister
i)       One person who shall be appointed by the Minister for the time being responsible for education.
j)       One senior member of academic staff appointed by the Vice- Chancellor
k)      Two members, one of whom a woman elected by the Students’ Organization
l)       One person elected by the Academic Staff Association from amongst its members
m)     Two persons appointed by the Council at least one of whom to be a woman
n)      One member appointed by the Tanzania Commission for Universities; and
o)      One member elected by the Researchers, Academicians and Allied Academic Worker’s union

Senate Responsibilities/Functions and Accountability
>. Subject to the general supervision and guidance of the Council, the Senate is the principal  decision making organ in all academic matters of the University.





UDSM_Prospectus 2016/2017


About unistoreTZ Media 2866 Articles
Unistoretz is the innovative education platform, distinguished as a fully-fledged digital lifestyle branding which provides studying materials for students and Opportunities. All Education Announcements, Jobs Advertisements, Scholarships, studying materials and Other Opportunities Published In this Website are From their Original Sources&Their Trusted Sources.Copyright to the materials remain with the actual owner of the content.