10 BEST STUDENTS – Top 10 Students Performed Well in Form Four Results 2019

Summary of NECTA’s History:
After Tanzania Mainland had pulled out of the East African Examinations Council, in 1971 and before NECTA was established by Law, in 1973, the Curriculum and Examinations Section of the Ministry of Education was responsible for all examinations. With the establishment of NECTA, the Examinations became its responsibility in accordance with the law.

The Curriculum continued to be under the Ministry of Education and the University College, Dar es Salaam until when it was taken over by the newly established, autonomous Institute of Curriculum Development (ICD) in 1975, which in 1993 was renamed as the Tanzania Institute of Education (TIE)

Between 1972 and 1976 the first staff of NECTA were recruited, among them was Mr. P. P Gandye who was recruited in 1972 and later on in 1994 was appointed as Executive Secretary. The other staff members continued to be recruited and especially so when NECTA’s premises moved from the Ministry of Education Headquarters to the present premises at Kijitonyama near Mwenge. Presently the number of NECTA’s staff is more than 250.

The National Examinations Council (Necta) in Tanzania has announced the fourth Form 2019 results showing 340,914 candidates equivalent to 80.65 percent of the 422,722 candidates passing their exams.
The results were announced today on Thursday, January 9, 2020 by Necta Executive Secretary, Dr. Charles Msonde, who said the candidates are a 1.38 percent increase compared to 284,126 candidates and 79.27 percent who passed the exam in 2018.

As a result, Dr Msonde has announced the 10 best students in the nation, of whom six are from Francis Girls Secondary School in Mbeya.


  1. Joan Ritte (St Francis Girls- Mbeya)
  2. Denis Kinyange (Nyegezi Seminary- Mwanza)
  3. Erick Mutasingwa (Sengerema Seminary- Mwanza)
  4. Rosalia Mwidege (St Francis Girls-Mbeya)
  5. Domina Wamara (St Francis Girls-Mbeya)
  6. Mvano Cobangoh (Feza Boy’s- Dar es Salaam)
  7. Agatha Mlelwa (St Francis Girls- Mbeya)
  8. Sarah Kaduma (St Francis Girls –Mbeya)
  9. Shammah Kiunsi (St Francis Girls – Mbeya)
  10. Luck Magashi (Huruma Girls- Dodoma)